Garlic and Rosemary Yogurt Cheese

I remember when I wanted to get really thick yogurt, I’d strain some non-fat yogurt and the consistency turned out to be heavenly.  What would happen if I did the same thing with the already thick Greek yogurt variety?  What if I added some chopped garlic, rosemary and a pinch of salt?

Wow.

An even thicker concoction happened.  I love experimenting in the kitchen, especially when I am greeted with results like this!

I took a big container (35 ounces) of Greek, plain, non-fat yogurt and added a 1/4 cup of chopped garlic, 2 tablespoons of chopped rosemary and a hefty pinch of salt.  Mixed it all together, put it in a strainer lined with cheese cloth and placed that strainer above a bowl and put it in the fridge overnight.  If you don’t have cheesecloth you can probably use a coffee filter (which is what I used when I strained the non-Greek variety).

Here it is the next morning . . .

I literally unwrapped it and placed it on the plate arranging some veggies around it with some homemade bread I had made.

Drizzle some olive oil on top, add pepper and crunchy sea salt (I love Maldon’s sea salt.  Those big crunchy flakes?  Oh my . . .)

Bon appetit!

One response to “Garlic and Rosemary Yogurt Cheese

Leave a Reply

