Cranberry Chutney for our Holiday Trip

If you don’t know, I have a very sweet spot in my heart for my Airstream travel trailer.  I have only had her for a little over one year and I am absolutely smitten.  When my family and I are not vacationing with her, I am at home thinking about our next trip.  Really.  Where will we go?  What will I cook?  I can not wait!

That being said, we celebrated our Thanksgiving holiday, in our Airstream on a chilly beach in the San Juan Islands here in Washington State.  You can read about our trip here.  I wanted our trip to be easy.  Simple.  Enjoyable.  I didn’t want to make a big fuss over our Thanksgiving dinner.  I would roast a turkey, buy a nice big block of sweet sharp cheese and some fresh bread and that would be it.  Of course you need cranberries to go right?  I prepared them at home before our trip so they would set up nicely.  That’s the beauty of my simple cranberry sauce.

Beautiful fresh cranberries and dried mission figs

Finished cranberry chutney in my Airstream's kitchen

Cranberry Chutney

1 bag (12 ounces) cranberries
1 package (8 ounces) dried figs of your choice, roughly chopped
1 cup of brown sugar
1 cup water
1 cinnamon stick
A splash of red wine vinegar
Pinch of salt
In a medium sized saucepan, place all of your ingredients together and bring to a boil.  The cranberries will pop, thicken and everything will turn into a beautiful thick, sweet red sauce.  Let cool and store in the fridge if not using straight away.
 
Bon appetit!
6 responses to “Cranberry Chutney for our Holiday Trip

  1. Pingback: A Picnic with a View »·

  2. Pingback: To Be Thankful » Just 5 More Minutes·

Leave a Reply

