An Heirloom Tomato-Bacon Melt and a Quiet Evening at Home

It was one of those days.  Work was hectic and non-stop.  Outside, it was raining.  Traffic on the way home from the office?  Congested to say the least.

It was good to finally be home.  Home to my warm house.  Home to my family and my kitchen.

“Mommy!”  B ran to me with open arms as he does every day that I come home.  So happy to see me — and me — so happy to see him and to hug him.  To hold him.

Dinner wasn’t going to be fussy tonight.  I knew exactly what I would prepare that would make my boys happy.  Of course it would include bacon but better than that (for me at least)?  A couple of beautiful, fresh, sweet, ripe heirloom tomatoes just waiting for me on the countertop.  On my lunch hour I picked up a loaf of freshly baked Dutch crunch bread.  An heirloom tomato-bacon melt was for dinner.

An Heirloom Tomato-Bacon Melt

It was peaceful in my kitchen as I began to prepare our dinner.  I sliced the sweet tomatoes into thick discs.  I was starving . . .

I glanced over at the boys who were happily playing a game of Monopoly.  I smiled to myself.

My precious Buddy was at my feet, as usual, in his same spot.  Always looking at me with those sad and ever-so-hopeful eyes that something will drop to the floor.

I discretely slipped him a slice of bacon (shhh).

As the Monopoly game finished up, and dinner was in the oven, it was time for B to do his homework.  For me, it was time to sit down and happily glance through some of my cookbooks (I am always thinking about what I will cook next).

It was a delicious night . . .

Heirloom Tomato-Bacon Melt

A loaf of your most favorite bread, thickly sliced
1 package of “nitrate-free,” bacon
A couple of heirloom tomatoes, sliced
2 cups of shredded, extra sharp-cheddar cheese
A handful of Arugula
Mayonnaise (for spreading on all sides of the bread)

Preheat your oven to 400.

  1. Begin by cooking your bacon.  Place the bacon in a skillet and then turn on the heat to medium.  Slowly cook your bacon, turning every so often until golden brown and crispy.  Remove from skillet and set aside.  Leaving about 1 tablespoon behind, drain all the bacon fat from the skillet.
  2. Assemble your sandwiches.  Spread the mayonnaise on both sides of the bread, top with the tomatoes, cheddar cheese, bacon and then a handful of arugula.

    You are now going to “brown” your sandwiches.  They will finish up cooking (and melting) in the oven.

  3. Heat up your skillet to medium high and prior to placing the first sandwich in the skillet, spread mayonnaise on the side of the sandwich that will be touching the skillet.  Once the sandwich is in the skillet, spread mayonnaise on the topside of the sandwich.
  4. Cook for about one to two minutes or until the bottom of your sandwich is a golden brown adjusting your heat as necessary.  Flip and repeat on the other side and continue onto preparing the other sandwiches.
  5. Place the golden brown sandwiches onto a parchment lined cookie sheet (the parchment will protect your pan from the melty cheese) and bake for about 10 minutes or until all of the cheese has melted.

Oh my goodness.  These. Were. Amazing.

Bon Appetit!

3 responses to “An Heirloom Tomato-Bacon Melt and a Quiet Evening at Home

    • Thank you so much! I can’t even begin to describe how deliciously sweet those tomatoes were and how well they complemented the melt 🙂

Leave a Reply

