Thinking and Planning for my Garden

It was a quiet morning for me.  Hubby and B were gone skiing for the weekend.  The house was quiet.  Oh how I love the quiet.

I poured myself a cup of tea and enjoyed some nice sweets for breakfast while I perused my most favorite book of the moment. It is called “The Heirloom Life Gardener: The Baker Creek Way of Growing Your Own Food Easily and Naturally.”  I love this book. I can not put it down.  It is full of such invaluable information on how to prepare your garden for the growing season as well as other tips for growing your own food

As I read through this book I can not help but reflect back on my past growing seasons here in suburban Seattle.  I am very excited for spring to arrive!

For the first time I have my very own gardening journal. This journal will help me keep track of everything I grow in my garden and how all of these veggies and fruits do in my climate zone here.

Baker Creek offers up some of the most amazing rare seeds you will ever find in the world and you can grow them directly in your garden!  Last year I learned how to save my rare seeds from a successful harvest so I can use them again in my garden this year.

When the Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds catalog arrives in my mailbox I am very excited to start flipping through it!  My future garden awaits with promises of new and exciting fruit and veggie varieties.  This year I am excited about radishes.  I can hardly wait to start planting my radish seeds — I have quite a colorful assortment!

I am looking forward to sharing with you how I raise my kids from seeds to seedlings  in my house.  I have a really neat trick up my sleeve to share with you (coming soon!) on how I do this.

Here’s a hint:  start saving your neatly halved egg shells . . .

2 responses to “Thinking and Planning for my Garden

  1. Monica, love all the fabulous photos! Sounds like a great book. Wonder if the book would reference the tough Colorado climate and growing? The photo of your Buddy is darling 😉 Anna

Leave a Reply

